Adam Snider

On the Path

In Inspiration on October 21, 2010 at 10:35 am

I am currently taking a course at UCE called “On the Path.” The course is basically an exploration of spirituality. First of all, what is spirituality and, secondly, an examination and exploration of our personal spirituality.

Last night was the first night and there were definitely some interesting experiences. I had planned to write about the experience I had during the guided meditation that we went through, but I think I’m still trying to unpack it a bit. I’ll likely write about it in a day or two, after I’ve had some more time to think about it.

For now, I’ll just share the working definition of “spirituality” that I came up with during last night’s session:

Spirituality is that moment of letting go. That moment when it seems like the pen and ink are the ones doing the writing; when the keyboard tells my fingers where to go.

Spirituality is that moment of wakeful unconsciousness, when the intellect becomes secondary—it doesn’t leave or become unimportant, it just moves to the background and lets that unconscious “something” lead the way for a moment.

Obviously, the bits about writing should be taken as a metaphor for that “in the moment-ness.” For that “letting go.” For that moment of Zen. I used the example of writing because that is when I tend to feel that experience the most. It will, obviously, happen at different moments for different people.

Leave a Reply

